This one gets us back on schedule, and we start to amp things up to another level.

Our point of departure is the reflections of Nobel prize winning chemist Richard Smalley, and how he thought we could save the world, and how he ultimately couldn’t get any farther than the human mind.

We also talk a bit about how science and philosophy are the world’s religion, and we start to talk about why that’s a good thing, or at least, the seed of a good thing, as we probe ever deeper into the nature of our only real problem.

Podcast page HERE

Direct download: tps2.FTS.mp3

apologies for the lousy sound quality at certain points. I’ve been experimenting with different ways to fix the peculiarities that plagued my older recordings, but the cure seems to be worse than the disease. the succeeding ones will be better.

13 thoughts on “The Philosopher’s Stone: part 2/8-Flip the Switch

  1. Ah, that might just be the missing puzzle piece for me.

    As I mentioned on my blog, I’m cultivating concentration in the hopes of creating a stronger sense of purpose and drive to fuel various life activities.

    But it didn’t work out as planned. And I didn’t quite see why. My attention has only kept on growing for the last few months, but it hasn’t been growing towards anything in particular.

    In much the same way, I tried a sort of concentration on moral issues, with the intent of removing some ballast. But that only resulted in shaving off the top layers.

    I’m thinking perhaps I’d have been better off inverting the two practices in terms of goals and foci? That is: practice general mindfulness to lift consciousness out of the sort of ditch where it gets really, really easy to fall into reactionary behaviour, and practice mindfulness of particular problems to find ways to overcome said problems with targeted effort, rather than simply to take the edge off the neurosis.

    Thoughts?

  2. Well, one way of looking at it, is that you ought to continue to focus on your goal. everything that seems to be leading you away from that is a tangent being thrown up by your mind to make you confront a limiting image or belief. If a human being really is a creature of free choice and intention, then you should be able to do what you choose to do, and if you can’t, then there’s something in the way that you’ll have to address sooner or later. We are perhaps a little too prone in the postmodern age to question our goals, when we might be better off questioning what it is that makes us question them.

    Rather than over-complicating the matter, the best practice might be to simply do what you say you want to do. If the goal is profound enough to motive you, then the energy should take care of itself. If you do that consistently, the false foundation of the neurosis should make itself clear eventually.

    1. ‘Training is nothing! Will is everything!’, eh?

      I realized that I think you’re probably right. Time to find out if it holds up to practice. I went ahead and formulated some long-term and short-term goals.

      I’ll probably be back for the next installment with some new comment or query. These things are having a wondrously inspiring effect.

      1. Sometimes the test for enlightenment is the test for being sober. just walk a straight line. everyone laughs, but if you can’t, that’s when you know you’ve got a problem.

  3. I’m involved in this since 2005: http://www.steorn.com/

    My best assessment from as inside of it as you can be, without living in Dublin, is that It’s probably working. My only hope now is that this will be enough, and in time. These guys need all your wish of best luck and success. I’ve done everything I could myself.

    And I fully agree with your analysis.

  4. Sindre,

    I mean, that sometimes the hardest practice is just doing something simple, especially when you’re prone to complex reasons for not doing it.

  5. Ah. Yes, I know a thing or two about that.

    So I think I’ll draw upon one of those Alchemy for the Braindamaged tricks. Namely: doing it, right now. No excuses.

    Let’s see how it goes.

  6. Sam,

    I don’t mind giving the steorn thing a tiny bit of play, even though everything I’ve seen or heard about it screams scam to me. at the very worst, it’s an interesting example of the mental blocks people will engage with in the face of a profound problem. I will trust to your prior history to not start spamming us, but I fear you are being taken for a ride.

  7. Maybe you are right, I certainly haven’t seen anything that is definitive proof, just sky high piling up of circumstantial evidences.

    I’m fully aware that it could all be a scam, although you can’t help but marvel at the time, ingenuity and effort they have invested in it if that’s the case. As someone once put it: ‘They will either shift a paradigm in science or the paradigm of what a scam is’.

    In any case, I’ve met plenty of interesting people, and this didn’t cost me a cent. That it could be a block in facing the truth of the situation is certainly a concern I have.

    Time will tell!

Leave a Reply

