from where you are, you can’t even imagine what hitting bottom is like.

-Tyler Durden, Fight Club

like I said a little while ago, I plan to change the focus of things around here pretty dramatically from where it’s been, which no longer seems especially relevant.

We are crossing into an area that is a true singularity. ie; where, by definition, no prediction is possible. The corrupt and discredited assholes in charge have successfully made a system that is too large, too complex and too fast to control, and demonstrated they can’t even comprehend basic notions of risk and reward. What the fuck did they think was going to happen at 200+ to 1 leverage and with utterly fraudulent lending practices? They gambled the world, and everyone loses. Good job fellas. If they were smart they’d concentrate on avoiding a firing squad. But they aren’t smart, they’ve proven that. It is truly the worst aspects of the reign of the oracles.

By the time Obama gets into power, we’ll all be eating soylent green, at the rate things are going. And even if things hang together a bit longer, he’s got too many of the same old crew telling him what to do. I wouldn’t hold out much hope that B-Rock will pull out the save, much as we might like him to.

I reject any notion that any of this is orchestrated or controlled. These idiots can barely control themselves in front of the press, never mind some baroque illuminst conspiracy. It also flies in the face of everything I know about systems and nonlinear dynamics. Conspiracy is a comfort to those who need to believe that somebody is in control. Doesn’t mean they don’t try, just that they can’t really succeed.

The other side of this, the personal side, is that I have had it pointed out to me in a shocking way that my mindset of the last little while has been a stagnant dead end. I suppose I always knew it would be, but I felt like I had to play it out, and that’s exactly what I did. I now have a new appreciation for the regenerating and fertilizing powers of chaos and catastrophe. And as time goes on, I realize that the fate of humanity is in the hands of those who can adapt and be creative in the face of the worst circumstances, those who can trust in the catastrophe, who can embrace change. I am done picking the scabs of a dying world. I side with life, and with the living.

This is the business we are in. We are magicians. We live in the realm of the impossible. Our world begins where the possible and the predictable end. We do not choose off the menu of the known. We are creatures of will. And soon, there may be nothing other than that.

6 thoughts on “Crossing the Nadir

  1. There is a conspiracy. To break open the piggy bank while there’s still a piggy bank and take what’s in it under the pretense of “preventing economic collapse”, and then hand it out to you and your buddies on the board, and so far, it’s working.

    likewise i think we have a window into the hive mind fractal now. what is it with this “change” “hope” nonsense? Obama getting elected President of the World, when so far as I can gather, he’s just hiring the same damn assholes for his cabinet? Jon Corzine, former Goldman Sachs, to replace Henry Paulson, former Goldman Sachs? And yet still this massive release, beyond what his campaign attempted to harvest…

  2. I’d classify what you’re talking about more as opportunism than arch-conspiracy.

    I agree the Obama thing is likely to be a pipe dream. I don’t doubt he’s a stand up guy, but he’s just too enmeshed in the runaway system to do much about it. the wave of popular expectation he’s aroused is another matter. when that turns ugly you’ll see heads roll before too long.

    probably the most sensible thing to do is just shut it all down or dynamite large sections of the more ephemeral linkages and work on managing it in sections. triage.

  3. “Now look. I’m pretty sure that someone in this room had a plan at some point. Seriously, no-one is leaving until we find out who had the plan. It was a really good one, too, I’m sure. i remember us getting really wasted one time at that place and discussing how cool it was all going to be and how great we were all going to look when we pulled it off. I’m at least 90% certain that happened. So where is it? Come on, guys, we’re a bit short on time here, it would be really helpful if whoever saw the plan last could speak up right now… OK, we’ll try this. We’ll all close our eyes for twenty seconds and whoever has the plan can just leave in the middle of the room, OK? And… one-“

  4. Zac, I wanna see more of your stuff; lots of weeks without writing. I need your s**t, man! Keep the good work.

    (I´m from Argentina, if you have interest in knowing how far your words/voice/ideas reach. )

Leave a Reply

