number nine: become consistent

One thing I’ve heard Douglas Rushkoff say that I thought was especially smart, and this is coming from a guy who says a lot of smart things, was that the most revolutionary thing anyone can do is to become totally consistent in the very smallest of their actions.

What does that mean? It means if you have a value, a principle, a practice, an observance that holds meaning for you, don’t just do it when it’s convenient, or interesting, or rewarding. Do it all the time, do it everywhere you can do it. Don’t just hold up your standards when it’s easy, but when it’s hard, when it’s unbearable, when no one is gonna pat you on the back for it.

If you want to meditate, then meditate every day, every chance you get. Don’t treat your life like the metaphysical supermarket. If you’re gonna do these things, then DO THEM until you cannot learn anything more from them, or you you simply cannot continue.

If truth, or justice, or understanding hold meaning for you, then apply them everywhere. Speak the truth to everyone, apply your integrity and justness to every interaction, not just the people you like or respect. If you really want to be healthy, then don’t just have a vegan shake on the weekend. Throw out the crap in your fridge, and don’t buy it again.

If you’re going to bitch about economic disparity and poverty, the inequities of the global financial system, then quit spending so much money to support it, it’s banks, it’s currency, it’s buisnesses.

If you do even one of these things, your life will get very interesting, very fast. So don’t complain if your life isn’t as compelling as you’d like right now. It is what you have made it.

3 thoughts on “Evolution by the Numbers: Number Nine

  1. This series is really nice. Simple and direct, the way I likes it. It’s very refreshing, even despite any occasional ambiguities. All the more questions for the question list. And now that I’ve jotted all 1 through 9 down on paper for easy reference, I think I’ll go do just that.

    Thanks (and happy almost-birthday)

  2. I suppose this is the only concrete realistic way anyone will ever reach “mastery” level in any area of life. Simply doing, every day, no matter how unpleasant the external circumstances may be. It’s something that probably won’t appeal to a lot of people since they’ll be too busy looking for some big hidden ‘secret’ that’ll just make everything fall into place, and then everything will be perfect. (I know I’ve been guilty of the latter countless of times; searching for something more than what I have, what I am, what I already know … because it’s so enticing.)

  3. One of my pet hates is people saying they’re going to do stuff, and then not doing it. Drives me nuts. I try my hardest not to do this.

    The way I look at it, it’s not that I’m putting values or beliefs into action; rather, by acting, I’m shedding the need for ideals – I’m just *doing* stuff. I think our culture puts too much emphasis on believing in things and having values, a Judeo-Christian mindset, which often leads to people forgetting that salvation lies in actually *doing* stuff, instead of just paying lip-service to ideals.

    Grrrrrr!

Leave a Reply

