..just a wee bit of housekeeping today.

 I’ve revised my blogroll a little bit, as I thought it a bit unfair to not make a distinction between those sites that are still up and running versus those that have gone dormant. ‘Not dead, but dreaming’ will now denote those sites that have a rich body of work that has concluded for the time being.  If it’s still here, then it’s worth your time, but for the novelty junkies the party has gone elsewhere.

 I’ve never felt the need to be one of those sites that must link to everything and everyone. part of my role that i take seriously, is to filter what’s out there and let people know what’s cogent to me and, if they happen to share my taste, to them.

  The ground zero category is the stuff I read most everyday, or friends, or simply sentimental value. you decide which.  If you’ve linked to me at some point, you will probably pass through ‘my house is your house’.  just so we’re clear, right.

   And for the real social networking pimps, you will be pleased to know I’ve established a junta on myspace, and am in the progress of becoming a ‘featured artist’ there. Who knows how that will go, but I thought it would be fun to IM some of ya’ll and have my stuff playing when you get there. In the meanwhile, if you have music up on myspace and you’d like me to put it up there, then let me know. for the rest of y’all, if you’re so inclined, then by all means ‘add’ me.

I’m also conducting an experiment to see how many ‘friends’ I can accumulate by being as confrontational and abusive as possible. I’m fascinated by the difference between the sort of ‘peer-esteem’ type dynamic that these sites are supposed to run on versus what it is they really do. The purpose of a system is what it does, kids. tattoo it on your forehead backwards so you can see it in the mirror.

there will be a test later.

3 thoughts on “Retorts and Rarefactions

  1. “…am in the progress of becoming a ‘featured artist’ there. Who knows how that will go, but I thought it would be fun to IM some of ya’ll and have my stuff playing when you get there…”

    Are you a musician, or are you referring to your spoken material?

Leave a Reply

