Now that the thrill of the massacre is over
Isn’t it sweet when she sucks on your veins
Glimpses of grandeur now faced with defeat
I’ve waited so long
Now that your kingdom of Babylon’s fading
where will you turn when you can’t find Your soul?
the Tea Party-Babylon

Ah, poor Dubya. I’d hate him if only he weren’t so clearly a sock puppet. Whatever they did to the poor bastard to make him a viable presidential robot obviously broke something inside of him. It’s sad to see him constantly whimpering that no one supports his ‘democracy building’ initiatives.

But never mind that. I’m not here to piss on the guy anymore. It’s beside the point.

I’m here to declare victory. Yes you heard me right. It’s all over but the crying. I realize that’s a bold statement, but it’s patently obvious that whatever support he had in most quarters has dissolved. His war is lost, his base is turning against him, and his retarded flailing is bad for business. Sometime in the last couple weeks the force shifted and everyone and their dog can smell George’s blood.

So I imagine that in short order we’ll see what’s left of the neocon agenda unravel entirely. There’s probably enough scrutiny out there to preempt any manufactured terrorist events from having any useful purpose. The real powers have enough to deal with without this clown and his gang of fanatics whipping the populace into a frenzy. When gas is $5.00 a gallon, and the housing bubble bursts, no one wants this embarrassment still sitting in the white house. He’s too obvious of a scapegoat for a soon to be enraged populace. There aint enough troops to control Iraq, let alone a combustible homefront in the grip of social upheaval. Far better to shuffle George off the stage and replace him with a less controversial puppet to help calm things down and gird the american people for ‘tough times ahead’.

Which is not to say it’s smooth sailing. Like I say, there are plenty of gut punches coming from the reality priesthood, but they’re about to toss the scapegoats out the exit hatch, and get on with the real plans. Namely a grab-back of resources and wealth to make the great depression look like a garage sale.

But for the moment I will kick back and look forward to George’s long-deserved public asswhuppin, and have a drink in honor of old Hunter S. Thompson, god rest his soul, who sadly didn’t live to see his prediction come true.

Immediately after the first debate ended I called Muhammad Ali at his home in Michigan, but whoever answered said the champ was laughing so hard that he couldn’t come to the phone. “The debate really cracked him up,” he chuckled. “The champ loves a good ass-whuppin’. He says Bush looked so scared to fight, he finally just quit and laid down.”

…”What is that horrible smell in the office, Tex? It’s making me sick.”
“That is the smell of a Loser, Senator. He came in to apply for a job, but we tossed him out immediately. Sgt. Sloat took him down to the parking lot and taught him a lesson he will never forget.”
“Good work, Tex. And how are you coming with my new Enemies List? I want them all locked up. They are scum.”
“We will punish them brutally. They are terrorist sympathizers, and most of them voted against you anyway. I hate those bastards.”
“Thank you, Sloat. You are a faithful servant. Come over here and kneel down. I want to reward you.”
That is the nature of high-risk politics. Veni Vidi Vici, especially among Republicans. It’s like the ancient Bedouin saying: As the camel falls to its knees, more knives are drawn.

…They all loved the whiff. It is the perfect drug for War — as long as you are winning — and Hitler thought he was King of the Hill forever. He had created a new master race, and every one of them worshipped him. The new Hitler youth loved to march and sing songs in unison and dance naked at night for the generals. They were fanatics.
That was sixty-six years ago, far back in ancient history, and things are not much different today. We still love War.
George Bush certainly does. In four short years he has turned our country from a prosperous nation at peace into a desperately indebted nation at war.

…Bush is a natural-born loser with a filthy-rich daddy who pimped his son out to rich oil-mongers. He hates music, football and sex, in no particular order, and he is no fun at all.

…We were angry and righteous in those days, and there were millions of us. We kicked two chief executives out of the White House because they were stupid warmongers. We conquered Lyndon Johnson and we stomped on Richard Nixon — which wise people said was impossible, but so what? It was fun. We were warriors then, and our tribe was strong like a river.
That river is still running. All we have to do is get out… while it’s still legal, and we will wash those crooked warmongers out of the White House.

Justice delayed, but never denied, George. History will stomp all over you and everyone like you. You aren’t the first. Buh-Bye. Victory party in the comments!

——
Hunter S. Thompson 1937-2005 R.I.P.

10 thoughts on “And out come the wolves…

  1. Hello friends. I trust we are friendly. My trepidation is from the framing below of a friend of mine. I seek a peaceful interaction. I hope you do as well.

    Hunter S. Thompson is a hero of mine.

    I hope this comment is well received. Please tell me kindly if I have tresspassed.

    Transparency is my goal. Yes, I am using my stage name often. I performed as Benjamin Garth for years. I’m accustomed and more comfortable being on stage as an alter ego. There are also litigious matters to consider of which you may not be aware.

    And, yes, I am trying to make a buck. I was fired from my previous two gigs.

    My end game is to teach The Zeigarnick Effect and show readers how there is a structural similarity to the way many churches use the story of Jesus.

    I like the words of Jesus I find in many texts. I find many churches using his story in a way I find abusive.

    I hope my values don’t conflict with yours.

    I am a media maven, but not an online maven.

    I could use some help popularizing the meme The Zeigarnick Effect. That isn’t my term. It is a psychological term used most often in direct response advertising.

    I know that many hackers find my words challenging. I am not seeking a fight.

    I seek peace. I hope you want peace. I hope we can motivate the masses to look for peaceful solutions before other alternatives.

    I seek peace.

    Peace on.

    Howard

  2. hahahaha

    peace suits me.

    is this what you’re referring to?

    “There’s something called the Zeigarnick effect that says that you remember
    unfinished tasks better than you remember finished ones,” Rosen says. He
    explains that when you start a task and don’t finish it, it stays “on” in
    the brain like a string of lights. If enough strings are left on, they will
    disrupt sleep–usually between 2 and 4am. Multitasking increases that
    likelihood.

    “You could light up the same number of tasks one at a time,” Rosen says,
    “and finish each one and it would go off. But if you have 10 areas all lit
    up, some dimmer than others, and you’re switching between, then your
    brain’s controller is always checking in on those unfinished tasks to make
    sure you don’t forget them. You can think of it as your brain always being
    in a state of fight or flight.”

    can we have a pirate island where we all sail under articles?

    I think some of your friends do a reasonably good job of ‘framing’ themselves. I admire the technical skill but bemoan the cynicism.

    I doubt building cages will ever make anyone free. Even custom cages we’d all love to live in.

  3. Zac,

    I agree that cynicism is not working. It reinforces the problem.

    I’m just finishing an essay for a collaborative project that I would like to send you the draft.

    May I send it?

    It is inspired by Way of the Peaceful Warrior. Although I read that many, many years ago, AS I rewrite, lessons from that book are emerging as important lessons to share. Funny thing is I can’t remember much except the tone and the breathing of the book.

    Thank you for your considerations.

    I use the above phrase a fair amount. In an attention economy, your considerations is gold.

    peace on.

    Ben

  4. I don’t beleive in ‘the attention economy’. it’s a pretext to give lots of kids ritalin so they’ll actually watch commercials. placing more unfulfilled imperitives in the mind to keep you awake at night, oh woe!

    But I see what you’re trying to say.

    by all means send it. A sharpening stone works both ways. I hardly get to use this wildly allegroical tone except with other magi.

    Not quite the memorial for old hunter I had in mind, but I’m sure he’s got plenty more where that came from.

  5. mcCoy, your missing the idea of an attention economy–i agree ritalin for kids is bad

    in PWC i’m transcribed explain that an attention economy means somebody’s attention can be valuated.

    pace

    ben

  6. Ben, it seems you’re missing the attention necessary to follow the comments properly. My comment had nothing to do with riddling or the zOned out economy, look again.

    Pace yourself, peace out.

  7. on a different note, I’m right there with ya McCoy. I’m delighted to see the christian right finally has enough rope to hang themselves in public too! it gets better and better.

    one day soon, george will be on the podium, smirking into the camera and he’ll suddenly turn queasy and puke a solid stream of blood right into the press scrum.

    that’ll be a beautifull thing.

    the media are poised on the decks like rats on a ship that threatens to sink.

    Every one of these fascists will be crushed like the poisonous reptiles they are. it’s a fact of nature.

    i’m sorry so many soldiers had to die to discredit these fucking scum, but they’ve got their own karma for being foolish enough to be hired killers for haliburton. god help them all.

    ( putting away the gonzo mask….)

Leave a Reply

